Watch Films Under the Stars in Ljubljana Castle, July 5 to 28 (All Trailers)

By , 26 Jun 2018, 17:15 PM Lifestyle
It's quite a setting It's quite a setting slovenia.info

Share this:

Summer nights offer many pleasures, but those in Ljubljana present the opportunity to indulge in one that’s rather special – watching movies in the open air, in the courtyard of a castle, with a bar serving drinks and a great view of the city at the end. 

It’s that time when Kinodvor takes over the main attraction after the sun goes down, with screenings of some the best art movies of the past year, plus some never seen before in the country. All films start at 21:30 and are shown in their original language with English subtitles, unless the original language is English, in which Slovenian is used for the subs (although note that movies like The Square, which are predominantly in English but have sections in other languages, are likely to be fully subbed in Slovene.)

In previous years rainy nights meant the screenings were moved to Kinodvor, but renovation work at the cinema in the coming month means this will not be possible, and thus bad weather will simply mean a cancelation, to be announced at ljubljanskigrad.si and ljubljanskigrad.si by 19:00 on the day of the scheduled screening.

Tickets are 4.5 euros for regular screenings, 5.5 for premieres and “special projections”. You can buy tickets at the Castle and Kinodvor, at mojekarte.si (Petrol, Kompass, etc), or online from the Castle here, although note the website is in Slovene and you’ll need to scroll down to find the night you want. Tickets went on sale June 13, so maybe start planning ahead.

What follows is the schedule, along with all the trailers, and if you want to visit the official website then you can do so here.

Thursday, July 5 – Muškarci ne plaču / Men Don’t Cry

Friday, July 6 – Lady Bird

 

Saturday, July 7 – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Sunday, July 8 – The Square

 

Monday, July 9 – Darkest Hour

Tuesday, July 10 – Ivan

Wednesday, July 11 – Call Me by Your Name

Thursday, July 12 – The Death of Stalin

Friday, July 13 – The Shape of Water

Saturday, July 14 – Don’t Worry, He Won’t Get Far on Foot [PREMIERE]

 

Sunday, July 15 – Phantom Thread

Monday, July 16 – Dolphin Man

Tuesday, July 17 – On Chesil Beach [PREMIERE]

Wednesday, July 18 – Testről és lélekről? / On Body and Soul

 

Thursday, July 19 – The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Friday, July 20 – Mary Shelley [PREMIERE]

Saturday, July 21 – Blade Runner 2049

Sunday, Jul 22 – Un beau soleil intérieur / Let the Sun Shine In

Monday, July 23 – Una mujer fantástica / A Fantastic Woman

 

Wednesday, July 25 – The Big Sick

Thursday, July 26 – Isle of Dogs [SPECIAL SCREENING]

 

Friday, July 27 – Get Out

Saturday, July 28 – Whitney [PREMIERE]

New Total Croatia Info Site

total-croatia-montenegro.jpg

Editorial

Photo of the Week

Photo galleries and videos

This websie uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.